Search icon


21st Feb 2019

12 new multi-denominational primary schools to open this year

Jade Hayden

Twelve new multi-denominational primary schools are set to open around the country this year.

Seven of the schools will be run by Educate Together and will open in Co Wicklow, Co Kildare, Co Dublin, and Co Cork.

Local Education and Training Boards (ETBs) will run two schools in Swords, Co Dublin and one in Co Meath.

The remaining two schools will teach all subjects through Irish. These will be located in the Blackrock/Booterstown area in Co Dublin and in Maynooth, Co Kildare.

These two will be run by An Foras Pátrúnachta, the patrons who run Gaelscoileanna.

RTE reports that the new schools should educate 3,000 young students, with nine of the schools being ‘eight-classroom’ schools that will take in approximately 200 pupils each.

Three of the Educate Together schools will be considerably larger, including 16 classrooms and catering for closer to 400 pupils.

Minister for Education Joe McHugh said that the schools are opening in areas where there is a demand for more primary school places to become available.