Meet Enda's New Government 6 years ago

Meet Enda's New Government

He made Fine Gael history by being re-elected as Taoiseach on Friday and last night Enda Kenny has announced his Cabinet for the 32nd Dáil.

In case you missed it, the big news is that Frances Fitzgerald has replaced Joan Bruton as the Tánaiste, while Leo Varadkar has been moved from Minister of Health to the Minister for Social Protection.

Minister for Education is Richard Bruton and Simon Coveney becomes the Minister for Housing.

Well-known Wicklow autism campaigner Simon Harris has been named as the Minister for Health. Just 29-years-old, Harris was the youngest TD in the Dáil when he was first elected in 2011.


Despite Enda's commitment to achieving a 50-50 gender balance in Government, only four out of 15 ministerial posts (or less than 27 per cent) went to women.

This is the new Cabinet in full...

Minister for Social Protection - Leo Varadkar
Minister for Finance - Michael Noonan
Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform - Paschal Donohoe
Minister for Jobs - Mary Mitchell O'Connor
Minister for Agriculture - Michael Creed
Minister for Justice - Frances Fitzgerald
Minister for Children - Katherine Zappone
Minister for Health - Simon Harris
Minister for Foreign Affairs - Charlie Flanagan
Minster for Education & Skills - Richard Bruton
Minister for Housing - Simon Coveney
Minister for Communications - Denis Naughten
Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport - Shane Ross
Minister for Regional Development, Rural Affairs and Arts and Culture - Heather Humphreys
Minister for Defence - Enda Kenny, with Paul Kehoe asMinister of State with Special Responsibility for Defence