Search icon


04th Jan 2018

Computer science to become a Leaving Cert subject from September

The first exam will take place in 2020.

September 2018 will see the introduction of computer science into the Leaving Certificate curriculum.

Over 40 schools throughout Ireland will be offering the subject to their 5th year students – with the first computer science exam set for 2020.

The subject will focus on coding, programming and how computing technology impacts the world.

The chosen schools range from all over Ireland with the majority in Dublin and seven in Cork.

Education Minister, Richard Burton spoke on this new addition saying:

“There is a digital revolution taking place, which is having a transformative effect on our economy, workplace, and lifestyle. In order to be the best in Europe, our education system must respond to these changes.”

“The introduction of this new subject will teach our young people flexible, solution-oriented thinking. It will teach them to be creative, adaptable learners.”

The end of year exam will be 70% computer based and 30% coursework.

The 40 schools chosen to offer this subject from next September include:

Abbey Vocational School – The Glebe, Donegal Town, Co. Donegal

Adamstown Community College -Station Rd, Adamstown, Co. Dublin

Breifne College – Cootehill Rd, Cavan, Co. Cavan

Bush Post Primary – Riverstown, Dundalk, Co. Louth

Carrigaline Community School – Waterpark, Carrigaline, Co. Cork

Castleblayeny College – Dublin Road, Castleblayney, Co. Monaghan

Christ King Girls Secondary School -Half Moon Lane, South Douglas Road, Cork

Clongowes Wood College – Clane, Co. Kildare

Coláiste an Chraoibhin – Duntaheen Road, Fermoy, Co. Cork

Coláiste Bríde – New Road, Clondalkin, Dublin 22

Coláiste Chiaráin – Croom, Co. Limerick

Coláiste Choilm – Ballincollig, Co. Cork

Coláiste Mhuire – Mullingar, Co. Westmeath

Coláiste na Ríochta – Listowel, Co. Kerry

Colaiste Phadraig – Roselawn, Lucan, Co. Dublin

Coláiste Pobail Setanta – Phibblestown CC, Phibblestown, Dublin 15

Creagh College – Carnew Road, Gorey, Co. Wexford

Dominican College Sion Hill – Sion Hill, Blackrock, Co Dublin

Ennistymon Vocational School – Ennistymon, Ennis, Co. Clare

Gaelcholaiste Mhuire AG – An Mhainistir Thuaidh, Corcaigh

Le Chéile Secondary School – Hollystown Road, Tyrellstown, Dublin 15

Loreto College Swords – Swords, Co. Dublin

Luttrellstown Community College – Mill Road, Blanchardstown, Dublin 15

Mayfield Community School – Old Youghal Road, Mayfield, Cork

Moate Community School – Church Street, Moate, Co. Westmeath

Mount Sion CBS – Barrack Street, Waterford

Mount Temple Comprehensive – Malahide Road, Dublin 3

Presentation Secondary school – Clonmel, Co. Tipperary

Rice College – Castlebar Road, Westport, Co. Mayo

Sacred Heart Secondary School – Convent of Mercy, Clonakilty, Co. Cork

Saint Eunan’s College – Letterkenny, Co. Donegal

St Aidan’s Comprehensive School – Cootehill, Co. Cavan

St Brigids Mercy Secondary School Tuam –

Convent Of Mercy, Tuam, Co. Galway

St Joseph’s Secondary School – Convent Lane, Rush, Co. Dublin

St Mary’s CBS – Millpark Road, Enniscorthy, Co. Wexford

St Vincent’s Secondary School – Seatown Place, Dundalk, Co. Louth

St. Finian’s Community College, Swords – Swords, Co. Dublin

Stratford College – 1 Zion Road, Rathgar, Dublin 6

Synge St CBS – Synge St., Dublin 8

Terenure College – Templeogue Road, Terenure, Dublin 6W